June 15, 2006 at 2:30 pm 2 comments

A child looks at children’s books


Some reviews of recent releases


By Andrew Oglesby (age 6)
For CNN

Tuesday, June 6, 2006; Posted: 11:34 a.m. EDT (15:34 GMT)

story.drew.jpg


 

(CNN) — When adults review children’s books, they often focus on the simplicity of the language. Or the beauty of the artwork. Or the appropriateness of the subject matter.

A child might be excited by something else — say, the hygiene habits of a grape. Or the ability of a story about a squirrel and a shark to conform to real life.


And sometimes, to borrow from Art Linkletter, kids say the darndest things.


With that in mind, CNN.com asked 6-year-old Andrew Oglesby, son of staffer Christy Oglesby, for his take on a handful of recently published children’s books. Here are Master Oglesby’s edited comments.


‘Raisin and Grape’


By Tom Amico and James Proimos
Illustrated by Andy Snair
Dial Books for Young Readers
$12.99, 30 pages




cover.raisin.jpg

The grape and the raisin are together and they are a family. The book is about how families love each other. On the last page the grape and raisin are hugging too tight because they love each other so much.


I really like the part where the grape smells his armpits. He says his armpits are fresh and clean, and that is so funny. He is smelling his odor and on the picture there are squiggly lines and that means bad odor.


The pictures are really cool and funny. And the other really funny part is where the raisin says, “You saved me again.” The grape saved his Grandpa, the raisin, from the prune who talked too much.


Other kids should read this book so they will know how to love their families. If grapes were alive, when they get old they would turn into raisins just like my Grandma and Grandpa and Nana.


———


HAHAHA!!! Raisins just like my gramps. hahaha how cute! I want to turn pruney now.  This was my favorite review in his article, but read the rest haha: http://www.cnn.com/2006/SHOWBIZ/books/06/02/review.childrens.books/index.html


 


ok and this part was too funny (martins = martians):


“And there’s no need for you to think that you are ordinary. Everyone is special. Everyone has special meaning. There is always something in you that is good, and there’s no need to be afraid of everything. And don’t believe in things that are not real, like martins. Kids will learn never to be afraid, always believe in yourself.


This is an outstanding book. The author who made this was wise.”


 


 


 


In an attempt to feel less lazy when I’m interning and waiting/watching slow tests run in the lab, I’ve decided to cut down on AIMing and increase my news reading!  yay!  I can feel my brain cells multiplicating already.


P.S.  I like working at BR!  Some days when I do 9am-5pm TZero, and then 6-11pm BR, I actually look forward to BR work.  The people are so nice and funny (coworkers, that is, because some customers are snobby and think BR is actually cheap -__-”’ go shop at LV then, you leather-toting pricks).  My coworkers also take care of noobs haha. (I called myself a “noob” when I found out one guy, Gerrick, worked at BR for 3 years and he was super surprised I even knew such a l33t word.  I told him: Dude, who doesn’t know that word?  I guess my friends are just super g33ky and it rubs off on me hahaha)  I’ll be working ALLL WEEEKEND (sat + sun full days), but no days next week cuz I’ll be in DISNEY-FREAKING-WORRLDDD!!!!! for a wholeeeeee weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek!  This will be my 1 week to catch up on much-needed sleep and boredom and sunshine in Florida (holding my breath that the storm passes by then).  So if you’re going shopping at VF this weekend, stop by and admire my folding.  I’ll greet you super loudly forsure!  Thanks PAT for wandering the entire maze-like store yesterday just to tackle me from the side!


P.P.S.  That was a very long P.S.  


P.P.P.S.  Now go watch Clive’s video where we all make fools out of ourselves.  Weeellll, except for Jenn, who gets to beat him up.  Lucky duck.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Disneyworld- Epcot!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aicir_tap  |  June 15, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    i wandered around the maze store TWICE looking for you!! TWICCEEE. teheheh i like your dance moves. ;]

    Reply
  • 2. aicir_tap  |  June 20, 2006 at 12:39 am

    hehheehh.. youre cuteee!!!! HAVE LOTS OF FUNNN IN FLORIDAAAAAAAA :]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


