August 2, 2006 at 5:40 pm 9 comments

so i’ll remember this chaotic, productive break of 2006…

Things I’ve Learned this summer (still in progress)–

from Tzero Tech interning:
1) When you’re in a cubicle, no one cares what you wear, contrary to the whole business-person look.
2) The “William Hung asian engineer” stereotype… is, sadly, pretty darn accurate. Everyone here looks like my dad and they are so nice and shy it’s amusing.
3) No one expects you to finish a task immediately after it is delegated to you.. so when you do (as I did, as a noob), you’re setting the bar too high!
4) The water cooler really is the hip place to chat.
5) I’m beginning to understand dilbert comic strips. this is sad.
6) FREEE FOOOODD in the break room means free fat. yum.
7) Cubicles should have doors. I always get a scare whenever someone comes by to find me and can walk right into my “office” without warning.
8) ABA interviews are much scarier than any actual corporate ones I’ve been through. hahahaha
9) Your college on your resume does say something about you to your potential employer; even though my boss went to StanfUrd.. he liked that I went to Cal :D.
10) Uhm.. it’s kinda hard to relate to 35+ year olds when they have Ph.Ds, are married, and have kids of their own, even though they’re really nice and try to make conversation with you. My closest coworkers at Tzero were.. 22 and 26. (yes, only 2. sad!)
11) There are some people who are soo awesomely funny you just can’t help but love them for their ridiculousness.  See Kim Nguyen’s antics/quotes on my facebook. Probably the funniest secretary  I’ll ever meet.
12) Since I’ve been able to telecommute from home this last week of work, I’ve rolled out of bed and started running tests in my PJs.  Let me tell you that it’s extremellllllyyyyy hard not to sleep til 1pm when you’re working from home. ahhh willpower.
13) Most importantly, through this internship experience, I learned that a higher-paying, unenjoyable cubicle job is definitely not what I want to do for my future career.  Of course, that’s just me being idealistic, and I did keep the full-time internship, but I decided to take on BR as a 2nd job precisely so that I could interact with people (coworkers closer to my age, clients who needed to talk to sales reps) and feel like I personally was making a difference at work.

from Banana Republic sales:
1) Heels and platforms are the devil. but they look so damn cute with business casual clothing. darn sneaky little pretty things!
2) I LOVE the BR petite section. hahhaa i think all clothing stores should have petites for us shorties.
3) There are actually so many many people out there who have lots of money to spend. yeah… I wouldn’t even consider purchasing any BR stuff full-price without my discount o_O.
4) People really DO get credit cards in stores! Although every time I sold one, I was so surprised (because you know how you just tune out sales associates when they try to sell you stuff while you’re shopping)
5) I’m a great smiler and greeter :D. YAY!!
6) You don’t have to know your coworkers’ last names to call and hang out with them outside of work. hahaha
7) EVERYONE HAS A MYSPACE. everyone. even one of my 30-year old managers (his name is James Bond, btw, awesome huh). yeah so I’ve been using myspace more lately.
8) This goes hand-in-hand with #7: NO ONE HAS FACEBOOK. except like.. 3 of us who were only here for the summer and have to go back to school.
9) As much as I loved working with awesome people, I can’t imagine doing retail for multiple years.  There are quite a few who have been at BR for 4, 5, 6 years and aren’t managers, and I’d imagine that it’s just a completely different lifestyle when you compare doing this for a summer (fun, money, and experience) versus doing it for life (living on the paychecks, planning your schedules all around work, working on weekends and holidays consistently).
10) Sales associates like it when customers acknowledge their greetings when you walk into a store! So now whenever someone in, say, AE or Express says hi, I always always smile and reply (I used to feel weird when they greeted me, but now I know what it feels like to be ignored :(. Oh and greeting fobs is soo fun because when you ask “Can I help you find anything today?” they smile and nod and still wander off on their own to shop. hahaha).
11) It really is dangerous for girls like me to work in the mall.. because we’re constantly around new clothes, we know when sales start and end, we know when it is the best time to buy on promotion, and.. basically yeah if i’m going to the mall every other day, you KNOW i’m gonna buy something.  Sooo I checked my bank statements and I spent about half of my BR income at BR… im nooot even kidding it’s that bad. haha
12) I still need to learn self-restraint…no more shopping until I’ve at least taken the tags off and worn all my new clothes. I doubt that my closet in my apartment (Connie knew I would need the larger room for my enormous wardrobe.. and massive junk) is gonna hold much more.
13) Work can be fun, and you can actually look forward to it (whodathunk?).


from Florida (this was on my aim profile but i’m storing it here):
1) white obese people in the US are underrepresented in the bay area
2) californians are relatively healthy eaters actually, cuz it’s hard to find a salad here and everythinggg is served deep fried with a side of fries
3) NO ASIANS!!! NOOO ASIANS HERE!! of course, i’m in the south yeah, but today we got soaked on a ride and when we got off, this little girl in line said “look mommy! even the chinese people got wet!!” -____-”’
4) LOTS and LOTS of british & australians come visit here so i hear LOTS of cuuute accents and see LOTS of cute toddlers speaking britishly.
5) everything in california must be expensive, because we consider even the food at disneyworld reasonable
6) when people ask me “where are you from?”, they don’t want to hear “california,” they want to hear “taiwan”  (o_o)v

qtbabie annie318: hahahaha sometimes i want to say
qtbabie annie318: i am from earth

7) alligator meat tastes like chicken only tougher and more sour….. XP

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  August 2, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    that’s why you take pictures with explosure but not flash :Dand ahaha “The water cooler really is the hip place to chat.” I can imagine you hitting on guys when they get water

    Reply
  • 2. supernam12  |  August 2, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    reminds me of my cubicle internship last summer. haha…and very interesting post by the way. usually i never read all the way through any blogs that are more than a few lines but this was pretty good.

    Reply
  • 3. mgsheu  |  August 3, 2006 at 1:40 am

    i love british toddlers! and irish ones. ah!

    Reply
  • 4. XaNgeL637X  |  August 3, 2006 at 2:23 pm

    thanks for sharing your insights. they were enjoyable reading.

    Reply
  • 5. mrseggpuff  |  August 3, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    dang you learned alot.makes me think about what i learned hahha

    Reply
  • 6. the1337fleet  |  August 6, 2006 at 7:36 am

    how could you? my grand reapparance to the xanga scene was going to use the “things I learned…” bah, for your punishment, I’ll let you know that I only skimmed your entry that probably took more effort than I think.

    Reply
  • 7. AnImuX  |  August 14, 2006 at 4:36 am

    oh man!! you were in Florida!!! 🙂 awesome stuff meng!

    Reply
  • 8. joiberrie  |  August 17, 2006 at 12:57 am

    omg christine i totally agree with the retail stuff, esp the one about associates liking when customers acknowledge them…i always say hi to other sales associates when i shop in their stores now, lol 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. zenkipower  |  August 31, 2006 at 5:27 am

    Work sucks. Everyone is leaving. Maybe I will be the next. Too miserable to fold clothes and take people’s crap because we dont have their tighty whitey sizes. I will be going to a temple in Carmel mountains and train like crazy. Find peace and inner stregnth. I will return. But yea, work sucks. Haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


